Got A Couple More Guitars

First, a red Peavey Vandenberg.  It will be nice to compare the sound of the stock pickups in this one to the upgraded (George Lynch Screamin’ Demon) in the black one.  I’ll get pictures up after it arrives in a few days.

My Hamer USA Diablo showed up today.  Beautiful!!!!  Pictures later.  The slant neck pickup, the neck thinness, the quality of the work on the neck, the body shape, the input jack configuration, and the color all remind me of my import Hamer Californian, despite the Cali having a single coil in the neck and a slanted fretboard edge that gives you up to 27 frets.

Which means I may sell the import Cali…except I really like it.  Can’t I keep both awesome guitars?

And then today I had the highest bid on an eBay auction for a Hamer USA Centaura.  It has a crack in the headstock at one of the tuning pegs that has been repaired.  The seller said it hasn’t given him any problems for 7-8 years, and it is true that if repaired well, repaired cracks can sometimes end up stronger than the original wood.  It has kind of a ‘granite’ paint job, black and yellow.  Again, pictures after it arrives.

I might just end up selling the black Hamer import Californian.  It’s just that I like the boomerang inlays, since all my other guitars just have dot inlays on the fretboard.

So I’ve got too damn many guitars now.

I’ve gotta sell some.  Obviously, the 1995 blue Hamer USA Studio will be sold, because I promised I would when I bought it.  And I honestly like my import Hamer XT SATF as much.  So I can sell that, no problem.

And I can sell the import Centaura, no problem.  I’m not that hooked on it, haven’t played it that much.  I like that its tremolo stays in tune, but its tone is slightly whiny, so it goes on the block!

The Slammer guitar?  Bought in order to sell it, so it goes on the block!

The Ibanez? On the block!

The Fernandes Pro w/ sustainer?  Hmmm…  It’s pretty except for the minor damage in shipping.  The USPS insurance rules mean I would never have gotten any money out of them for repair.  The damage isn’t that bad.  It still plays fine.  I’ll lose $100 if I sell it, probably.  But can I get $300 of enjoyment by keeping it?  Dunno.

JB Player Sledgehammer?  On the block!  It’s a decent guitar.  I’ll be lucky to get the $100 I paid for it because of the bad economy.  It’s a decent guitar, but I don’t see me ever playing it because I’ve got all these awesome shredders.

Carvin Bolt?  It was my first decent guitar.  It still looks great.  It has good action, and I like the sound (although I’ve heard others hate Carvins).  I really don’t know.  I haven’t been playing it much over the last few years…  I could get up to $450 for it, because even used Carvins have been selling well as of late.  Dunno.

Hamer import Stellar?  My first Hamer, so I have emotional connections with it.  Plus, it has a completely unique look.  The action isn’t that good, and the sound is slightly worse than the XT SATF.  But since it has the damaged nut, I’ll probalby lose money.  On the other hand, if I can get $180 back in the family bank account for a guitar I may never touch…  Or maybe I’ll hold on to it for my child if we happen to get my wife pregnant.  Dunno.

Hamer import XT Californian?  Not really a Californian in look, feel, etc.  It’s basically just a 24-fret, fixed bridge shredder, so it fills the same niche as the Stellar.  I can sell it and make money, so I may do so.  On the other hand, it cost far less than the Stellar, so “losing money” on the Stellar would still mean more cash in the family bank account.  Argh.  I’ll have to a/b sound test the two guitars…but for playability, the XT Cali wins…for looks and sentimentality, the Stellar wins.  Again: Argh.
Black Vandenberg: Keeper

Red Vandenberg: Keeper

Hamer USA Diablo: Keeper

Hamer USA Centaura: Keeper

Red Hamer import Californian: Keeper

Honey Burst Hamer import XT SATF: Keeper

Ministar Rokstar: Keeper

That’s still 7 guitars, with 5 of them being shredders.  Not bad for a guy who doesn’t shred.  Or maybe: not good for a guy who doesn’t shred.

6 Comments

Filed under guitar, Me, rant

6 responses to “Got A Couple More Guitars

  1. Rishi Gajria

    “That’s still 7 guitars, with 5 of them being shredders. Not bad for a guy who doesn’t shred. Or maybe: not good for a guy who doesn’t shred.”

    Yup, and no Les Paul, Strat or Jazzmaster in your collection. Not a hollow body either. Considering your tastes in music that you have revealed here, your guitar collection is surprising.

    • chiefmuser

      I just don’t like Les Pauls.
      Why?
      Dunno. It is of a piece with the fact that I don’t like Led Zeppelin, the Beatles, or the Rolling Stones. My tastes are strange to the point of silliness.

      re: Hollow bodies. I had two semi-hollow bodies: an Ibanez Artstar, and a Hamer import Echotone. I love jazz, which is why I had those. But I still can’t really play jazz, after a decade of trying, nor could I figure out how to get the really cool jazz sounds out of the semi-hollow bodies. So I sold ’em. Again: inconsistent to the point of silliness.

      But I like what I like. [shrug]

  2. Rishi Gajria

    “I don’t like Led Zeppelin, the Beatles”
    Whaaa……….!
    I worship Zeppelin.
    “I love jazz”
    Been working my way through the Bill Frisell discography. Very Nice. And Ted Nugent uses a Gibson Byrdland hollow body. That holds a special place in my heart for hollow bodies.
    “My tastes are strange to the point of silliness.”
    Please share them to enlighten.

    I find Gibson’s to be really overpriced even though they are great guitars. A buddy of mine has a made in USA Gibson Les Paul which he picked up for around 900. Too expensive. A Schecter Tempest classic would easily do and more for 699 to 750.

    • chiefmuser

      “strange to the point of silliness”

      Well, for one, I seem to like Led Zeppelin imitators far more than I like Led Zeppelin. How silly is that?

      And my favorite band is Styx.

      And I like shredder guitars, even though I can’t shred.

      And I’m not really attracted to hollow bodies, even though I like the 10 Fingers of Doom, too. Sorta. I actually like him as a songwriter far more than as a soloist.

      How many people do you know of who LOVE classic rock, but who dislike The Beatles, Pink Floyd, the Rolling Stones, Zepp, Tom Petty, Eric Clapton, Rod Steward, AND David Bowie? Not many, right? That is a veritable list of Who’s Who in Classic Rock. I don’t like any of ’em.

      And in metal, I don’t like Megadeth, Slayer, Judas Priest (double weirdness on that, since I love Hamer and KK Downing is a Hamer guitarist since way back), Iron Maiden, Motley Crue, W.A.S.P., Dio, Black Sabbath, or Deep Purple.

      Maybe that’s not strange or silly. But sometimes it seems that way to me.

  3. Rishi Gajria

    Boy! You should put up a top 20 or a top 50 of your favorite listens. So that I may work out the mystery. There are bands you have mentioned that I listen to in small doses. No one I particularly hate amongst the classics you mentioned. And I have hardly listened to Styx. Saw em live at Summerfest for a bit. That was it. And I have heard Mr. Roboto.

    • chiefmuser

      “Mr. Roboto” is their worst album, by far. Stay away from it until you’ve listened to everything else.

      I’ll put up some album lists soon.

Leave a Reply

