Kansas City Chief Derrick Thomas Makes Hall of Fame Hopeful List Again

As Bob Gretz says, in addition to Derrick Thomas, there are:

Cris Carter – Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins.

Dermontti Dawson – Center – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers.

Richard Dent – Defensive End – 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles.

Russ Grimm – Guard – 1981-1991 Washington Redskins.

Bob Hayes – Wide Receiver – 1965-1974 Dallas Cowboys, 1975 San Francisco 49ers.

Claude Humphrey – Defensive End – 1968-1978 Atlanta Falcons, 1979-1981 Philadelphia Eagles.

Cortez Kennedy – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks.

Bob Kuechenberg – Guard – 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins.

Randall McDaniel – Guard – 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-01 Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

John Randle – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks.

Andre Reed – Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins.

Shannon Sharpe – Tight End – 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens.

Bruce Smith – Defensive End – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000-03 Washington Redskins .

Paul Tagliabue – Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League.

Ralph Wilson – Team Founder/Owner – 1960-Present Buffalo Bills.

Rod Woodson – Cornerback/Safety – 1987-1996 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers, 1998-2001 Baltimore Ravens, 2002-03 Oakland Raiders.

In my opinion, the HoF should be for those who established new standards of how the game was played at their position, or who were still successful/dominant even when opposing coordinators gameplanned against them, or who must be mentioned when you talk about the history of the NFL during the years they played.

Someone who fans of later years will come and say, “You got to watch ______ play?!??!”

For all those reasons, Derrick Thomas should be in the HoF.

For all those reasons, Andre Tippett should not.  Andre Reed should not make it this year.

My list for those to make it this year would be:
Ralph Wilson
Bob Hayes
Rod Woodson
Bruce Smith
Derrick Thomas
John Randle
Shannon Sharpe

I’d let Russ Grimm, Tagliabue, Richard Dent and Chris Carter wait another year; Dent had too many mediocre years; Carter was never really dominant (although he was very good for many years); I’m still undecided about Dawson and McDaniel. 

Unfortunately, there is also some sort of unspoken requirement that someone play at that level for 5 or more seasons, so Priest Holmes and Terrell Davis will never make it, because their years of dominance were too few, and cut short by injury.

Pro-bowls matter, because (for instance), Donnie Edwards is in an elite group of LBs (only 9 in the history of the NFL) that have at least 20 INTs and 20 sacks.  He was an underrated game-changer that always made his defense better…but he won’t ever make the HoF list because he attended only 1 pro-bowl as an injury substitution.


Leave a comment

Filed under Chiefs/NFL Analysis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s