Some Child Support Statistics

From here.

79.6% of custodial mothers receive a support award.
29.9% of custodial fathers receive a support award.
26.9% of non-custodial fathers totally default on support.
46.9% of non-custodial mothers totally default on support. Meyer and Garansky, Technical Analysis Paper No. 42, US, Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Income Security Policy, 1991.

My ex-wife is gaming the system to try and get me to pay more. 

I feel like I have been raped twice.  Once when I lost my kids because of maternal bias by the judge (the court-appointed Custody Evaluator said the kids were better off with me, and the kids said they wanted to live with me.  The Judge completely ignored both).  And now a second time that I will give nearly 1/5th of my income to my ex-wife, whose standard of living (due to re-marriage) is already higher than mine, who will most likely use it to try and buy the kids’ affection, or increase her own standard of living.

I know this is nothing new. I know I am not unique in this complaint.

Perhaps the thing that bothers me the most about this is how vicious she is going after every cent, claiming righteously that I should support my children.  But she didn’t pay even the court-ordered $50/month for more than two years after the divorce.  She only paid when she was held in contempt for not paying.  And when she did pay, it was at the $50/month she should pay as unemplyed, despite having been employed for well over a year at that point.

Why do I always lose?

I’m a damn good father, and I gave them a damn good life, and I get punished…and she gets rewarded for her treachery and dishonesty.

Now you can worry about me, but I’m sure I’ll be okay eventually.

5 Comments

Filed under 10937391

5 responses to “Some Child Support Statistics

  1. Ugh. Too bad you can’t appeal the decision. Or get your attorney to file for a new hearing with a different judge, claiming bias or willful ignorance of facts. If only it were possible.

    • chiefmuser

      Nope, it’s all legal.
      It wasn’t a bad decision, it was just the law as written.
      The law as written screws over the male non-custodial parent.

      Because:
      a) the male parent is more likely to have a higher salary
      b) the male parent is more likely to remarry someone who doesn’t work
      c) the female parent is more likely to remarry someone who does work, and will earn more salary than her
      d) In Washington, the divorced individuals’ spouse/household income is immaterial, only the individual counts.

  2. I have custody of my son after years of abuse from his ‘mother’, Misty. Since then, she has offered no child support. After a recent court order, she has still paid no support. Unless you have a pair of boobs, the court/police won’t take your side. Sorry.

  3. new to being screwed

    I have just been intoduced to the completely one sided court system in NM.
    a) the ex makes twice as much as i do after completing school .
    -yet i have to pay 1/4 my pay check for “child support”
    b) she was awarded twice as much time with our son
    – yet she was arriving drunk for pick ups and exchanges with him
    c) I got all the big bills WE accumulated while married
    -and the debt out weighs my income….
    D0 you think the system makes money off of the men paying into it?

Leave a Reply

