I’ll Take Politicians Who Are Bad Speakers for $500, Please

Obviously, President George W. Bush is a bad public speaker.

But at least you see him in his speeches.  You see personality, you see life, you see sincerity.

Not so Hillary Clinton.

I watched a smidgen of her speech on the occasion of accepting the nomination to be Secretary of State, and once again I was struck with just how horrible she is at public speaking.

No, she doesn’t stumble over her words, or utter any malapropisms or butcher the English language.

But she delivers her lines like a 12-year-old thespian in the school play: Plodding.  Monotone. Flat. Boring. Devoid of energy, personality, or any life at all.  She’s Ben Stein in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off without the sparkling verve (or any of the self-deprecating humor).  She’s a verbal sledghammer trying to swat a rhetorical fly.  She’s the vocal equivalent of a 900-pound shopper in an electric scooter, but without quite that much grace. 

She’s not stupid, of course…but beyond that, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone less deserving of a nationally-prominent political position in my entire life.  She would not have been able to win even local dog catcher without her husband’s political success.

She is, without a doubt, the worst speaker of any politician I’ve ever seen.  Yes, worse than Bob Dole or Michael Dukakis.  And worse in an entirely horrible way than even George W. Bush.

5 Comments

Filed under Politics, rant

5 responses to “I’ll Take Politicians Who Are Bad Speakers for $500, Please

  1. Morgan

    Well, I’m not sure that she’s worse than Michael Dukakis, but otherwise, I’m afraid you’re spot-on here…

    “Local dog catcher…”

  2. I happened across your blog doing research on Hamers. Imagine my surprise to see your sensibilities extend beyond obsessively collecting guitars to cars, politics, a sense of humor “…in a scooter, without the grace,” and even pragmatic fandom for the Chiefs.

    While I don’t share the faith in the Chiefs (sorry, I lived in Denver for fourteen years), I was able to correctly predict the Chiefs’ victory over the Broncos early this season when the Broncos were off to a quick start. The Broncos are always of to a quick start. And the Broncos always find a way to lose to the Chiefs.

    You’re a brave man to even sample a Clinton speech, Willy or H.R. I don’t have the constitution for it. Not that they much care for constitutions, come to think of it.

    I did manage to pick up a Hamer. An import Standard of which my first impressions are that it is substantial and high quality. The pickups in it just snarl. Pictures here:

    http://s200.photobucket.com/albums/aa281/Druffing1/Hamer/

    Cheers

  3. chiefmuser

    If you really want to have fun on a boring weekend…or perhaps put yourself to sleep on a sleepless night, you can always check out my archives at brain.mu.nu.

    I’ve got crap on football, guitars, cars, and politics stretching back since 2002!

    I never really felt attracted to the Hamer Standards for some reason. With so much wood, I’ll bet they have great tone and resonance, and I’ve heard they are wonderfully balanced…

    But I’m looking into becoming a Hamer dealer in the future, I like them so much.

    If you’re in the market for a used Hamer Studio or Artist, let me know.

  4. I can’t believe you are making me stick up for Hillary, I don’t think I like her. I don’t really know much about her, but the little I do I don’t care for… But I have to stick up for her on this one…

    The little news I watched before being interested in politics at all, when talking about Hillary always said how she was the opposite of what you are saying here, and saying without saying she couldn’t do the job as a woman because she was to emotional and showed “to much” of herself.

    Remember when you read this I don’t care for what I know of her, but to be fair perhaps she does it on purpose because of those people that suggest she isn’t able to do the job because of her “emotions” that come with being a woman… Just food for thought

Leave a Reply

